Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English, Philosophy & Film Studies

How to Search a Database

1. Choose your search terms carefully.

2. Put them in the box and search.

3. Ignore the articles in your results list! Look for the number of results, aim for between 5 and 50.

4. Get a better list: if you have fewer than 5 results or more than 50, apply limiters and revise your search terms, then search again.

5. When you have a results list with a manageable number of relevant articles, begin to work through them by reading their articles and abstracts.

For more information on how to find relevant, high-quality sources, see "Scholarly Sources"

 

Online articles and databases

Recommended:

  • JSTOR                                                                                                                                                                                                                    The Library’s largest database of academic journals for the humanities, with full text and complete back runs of many titles. Current issues (usually the last 3-5 years) may be embargoed, but may be available in other databases.
  • ProQuest Central
    Full-text articles from a large selection of scholarly journals and magazines.

Also available:

For additional news resources, see also the Library’s databases for US Newsstream

Print magazines

Current issues of the Library's print magazines are available on the main (3rd) floor. Back issues are shelved on the bottom (1st) floor.