Skip to main content

Early Education

NVU- Libraries Subscribe to these Journals

Journals Subscriptions:

Gifted Child Quarterly  Newsworthy manuscripts, integrative reviews of substantive areas of inquiry in the field of the gifted child, research studies and commentary on all aspects of the gifted child.

The Journal of Learning Disabilities  The “Journal of Learning Disabilities (LDX) provides specials series (in-depth coverage of topics in the field, such as mathematics, sciences and the learning disabilities field as discursive practice), feature articles (extensive literature reviews, theoretical papers, and position papers), research articles (reports of qualitative and quantitative empirical research), and intervention articles (overviews of successful interventions).”

Remedial and Special Education Topical and nontopical issues devoted to discussion of issues involving the education of persons for whom typical instruction is not effective, interpretation of research literature and recommendations for the practice of remedial and special education.

School Arts  Monthly magazine for art teachers, including lesson plans and ready-to-use classroom resources.

Science and Children Feature articles selected through peer review, commentary, software reviews, product reviews, on preschool through middle school science teaching.

Teacher Education and Special Education The Journal of the Teacher Education Division of the Council for Exceptional Children

Databases

Recommended Databases:

Academic OneFile:  Discover a comprehensive collection of authoritative periodicals and scholarly journals/Vermont Online Library 

Academic Search Premier Contains Teacher Reference Center, ERIC, Education Research Complete, Professional Development Collection and more.

Education Research Complete A very large bibliographic and full text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Covers over 2,200 journals.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) Provides access to the U.S. Dept. of Education's Education Resource Information Center. Contains more than 1,300,000 records and links to more than 323,000 full text documents from ERIC back to 1966.

Education Database  [ProQuest Central] (1988 - current) Abstracts and indexing of over 900 education journals, many in full-text.

The Chronicle of Higher Education The online edition of the Chronicle is the source of news and information on all aspects of higher education.

Web Resources

Featured Web Resources:

PBS Learning Media
“A free media-on-demand service that gives educators, parents, and students FREE access to the best of public media. Explore the 87,000 plus research-based, classroom-ready digital learning experiences, aligned with National and Common Core State Standards. You’ll find short clips, interactive activities, images, audio files, self-paced lessons, and professional development.” Registration is required (free).

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.

  • Professional Collection
    Full-text articles from more than 300 periodicals for teachers, school administrators and instructional technologists. A sub-section of Academic OneFile.