Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music & Performing Arts

Articles: Overview

In addition to print items like books and journals at the library, Northern Vermont University Libraries subscribes to many online databases, which contain mainly scholarly articles, but also other reliable information from a variety of different sources.  Use the resources below to find articles on your topic.

Please Note: Off-campus access to article databases is available only for registered students, faculty and staff with a NVU username and password. Visitors to the library may use our public computers for access to the Internet and to our databases. 

How to Search a Database

1. Choose your search terms carefully.

2. Put them in the box and search.

3. Ignore the articles in your results list! Look for the number of results, aim for between 5 and 50.

4. Get a better list: if you have fewer than 5 results or more than 50, apply limiters and revise your search terms, then search again.

5. When you have a results list with a manageable number of relevant articles, begin to work through them by reading their articles and abstracts.

For more information on how to find relevant, high-quality sources, see Scholarly Sources "".

 

Looking for a Specific Article or Journal?

If you have a citation and need to locate the article, use the link below to search by journal title and see if we have access.

Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary loan is the next step in the following situations:

  1. You are unable to locate a known citation or journal via "Find Journals" above. 
     
  2. You locate an article in a database with no full-text access.

See the https://libraries.northernvermont.edu/other-libraries page for more information on how to request books or articles.

Databases

Recommended:

  • JSTOR
    The Library’s largest database of academic journals for the humanities, with full text and complete back runs of many titles. Current issues (usually the last 3-5 years) may be embargoed, but may be available in other databases.
  • ProQuest Central
    Full-text articles from a wide selection of scholarly journals and professional magazines.

Also available:

For additional resources on business, see also the Library’s databases for Small Business Resource Center.

Print magazines