CQ Almanac PlusThis annual summary of CQ Weekly is the successor to the Congressional Quarterly Almanac noted above.
Call Number: 328.707 C76c 2001-2010
CQ WeeklyA publication for reporting the news and activities of the U.S. Congress. Located in Periodical Stacks 1998--. Also indexed in Academic Search Premier database.
Call Number: Periodical Section
Congress A to Z by C. Q. Press Staff (Editor)Congress A to Z provides ready-reference insight into the national legislature, its organization, processes, personalities, major legislation, and history. No other volume so clearly and concisely explains every key aspect of the national legislature. The Sixth Edition of this classic, easy-to-use reference is updated with new entries covering the dramatic congressional events of recent years, including social media usage by members of Congress, the politics of recent debt ceiling and deficit spending showdowns with the executive branch, new floor leaders in both chambers, and campaign finance patterns. Each of the more than 250 entries, arranged in encyclopedic A-to-Z format, provides insight into the key questions readers have about the U.S. Congress and helps them make sense of the narrow power division between Republicans and Democrats, the methods members use to advance their agendas, the influence of lobby groups, the key role of committees and strong-willed leaders, and much more. Key Features: Available in both electronic and print formats Quick answers to questions as well as in-depth background on the U.S. Congress Historical and contemporary photos Detailed appendices, tables, internet addresses, and index
Publication Date: 2014-03-14
Congress in Context by John Haskell; Sara Grove; Marian CurrinderThe U.S. Congress is by the far the least popular (and most misunderstood) branch of the federal government. Congress in Contextde-mystifies the institution, giving students a comprehensive and practical understanding of Congress and the legislative process. This book takes a different approach to the study of Congress than other texts. Usually Congress is treated in isolation from the rest of the government. But the Framers of the Constitution explicitly intended for the branches of government to be interdependent. Congress in Contextintroduces readers to Congress's critical role in the context of this interdependent system. Using the metaphor of a board of directors, the authors explain the three key roles of Congress within the federal government (authorizing what government does, funding its activities, and supervising how it carries out the laws Congress passes) and shows students how Congress interacts with the rest of the government to exercise these powers. The thoroughly expanded and revised second edition features brand-new chapters on Congress and the courts and Congress and interest groups. It also includes expanded coverage of Congress's relationship with the executive branch, campaign finance, and today's major budget issues. Grounded in the latest political science literature coupled with contemporary examples, Congress in Contextoffers students an informed yet accessible introduction to how the legislative branch carries out its duties.
"Congress.gov is a free resource that provides searchable access to bill status and summary, bill text, member profiles, the Congressional Record, committee reports, direct links from bills to cost estimates from the Congressional Budget Office, legislative-process videos, committee profile pages and historic access reaching back as far as 1973."
The Congressional Research Service of the Library of Congress supplies the U. S. House and Senate with in-depth reports on critical issues of importance to legislators. Unfortunately, the reports are not widely distributed to the public. Archive-It acts as a clearinghouse for disseminating CRS Reports which are collected and maintained on various university and government websites.