Encyclopedia of the American Constitution"Contains new and updated original articles covering recent concepts (i.e. adoption, race, the Constitution, birthright citizenship) and court cases since 1992 offering comprehensive coverage of all aspects of constitutional law, as well as biographies of people who have had an impact on our government's legal framework (Supreme Court Justices, Presidents, Cabinet Members, Lawyers, and more)."
Encyclopedia of Constitutional Amendments"This book offers a set of alphabetically organized entries designed as a one-stop resource for high school and college students, members of the general public, and scholars interested in the numerous proposals that individuals have introduced to amend the U.S. Constitution."
NVU Reference Books on the Constitution
A Companion to the United States Constitution and Its Amendments"Key events leading to the Constitution's ratification, including the writing of the Declaration of Independence and the proceedings of the Constitutional Convention, then goes article by article, amendment by amendment, to describe each section of the document, as well as the important court cases that add to its meaning." Available in the library's reference collection.
Call Number: R 342.7302 V711c 2011
First Amendment Rights: An EncyclopediaVolume 1: Traditional Issue on the First Amendment. Volume 2: Contemporary Challenges to the First Amendment. Available in the library's reference collection.
American Constitutional Law : Essays, Cases, and Comparative Notes"This new edition offers updated and expanded treatment of a number of important and timely topics including, the death penalty, privacy, affirmative action, and school segregation. Volume 2 of this text focuses on civil rights and basic freedoms and includes separate chapters on race and gender."
Essentials Supreme Court Decisions"The only reference guide to Supreme Court cases organized both topically and chronologically within chapters so that readers understand how cases fit into a historical context, the 15th edition has been extensively revised to ensure that it remains the most up-to-date resource available."
James Madison Rules America"James Madison Rules America examines congressional party legislative and electoral strategy in the context of our constitutional separation of powers."
Keeping Faith with the Constitution"Chief Justice John Marshall argued that a constitution'requires that only its great outlines should be marked [and] its important objects designated.'Ours is'intended to endure for ages to come, and consequently, to be adapted to the various crises of human affairs.'In recent years, Marshall's great truths have been challenged by proponents of originalism and strict construction. "
The Origins of the Necessary and Proper Clause"The Necessary and Proper Clause is one of the most important parts of the US Constitution. Today this short thirty-nine-word paragraph is cited as the legal foundation for much of the modern federal government. Through three independent lines of research, the authors trace the lineage of the Necessary and Proper Clause to the everyday law of the Founding Era - the same law that American founders such as Madison, Hamilton, and Washington applied in their daily lives."