Reference Sources: Finding Background Information and Overviews
Reference sources are used to locate background information on a topic. Encyclopedias, both in print and online, provide an overview of a subject as well as identify key authors and scholars who have contributed to the field. Lists of books and articles in bibliographies at the end of an encyclopedia entry are often referenced as well. You can then use those names and titles in book catalogs and databases to learn more about the subject.
Many of our reference sources are now online and fully searchable in electronic databases. NVU students, faculty and staff have access to these titles with theirNVU username and password.
The Concise Encyclopedia of World War II"A comprehensive and integrated military, political, and strategic history of World War II, ranging from the daily life of conscripts and civilians to operational and strategic decision making at the highest levels.• Hundreds of concise entries on all facets of World War II, ranging well beyond the typical focus on the West and on battle-to-battle recaps• 100 photos and 20 maps offer important information about World War II"
The Holocaust Encyclopedia by Walter Laqueur (Editor); Judith Tydor BaumelThe Holocaust has been the subject of countless books, works of art, and memorials. Fifty-five years after the fact the world still ponders the enormity of this disaster. The Holocaust Encyclopedia is the only comprehensive single-volume work of reference providing both a reflective overview of the subject and abundant detail concerning major events, policy decisions, cities, and individuals. Up-to-date and designed for easy access, the encyclopedia presents information on the major aspects of the Holocaust in essays by scholars from eleven countries who draw on a number of sources--including recently uncovered evidence from the former Soviet bloc--to provide in-depth studies on the political, social, religious, and moral issues of the Holocaust as well as short entries identifying events, sites, and individuals. The book also has more than 250 photographs, many of them rare, and 19 maps. The volume includes: * Raul Hilberg on concentration camps and Gypsies * Ruth Bondy, Israel Gutman, and Dina Porat on major ghettoes * Roger Greenspun on the Holocaust in cinema and television * Richard Breitman on American policy * Michael Berenbaum on theological and philosophical responses * Saul Friedländer on Nazi policy * Michael Hagemeister on the Protocols of the Elders of Zion * Michael R. Marrus on historiography * Christopher R. Browning on the Madagascar Plan * Robert S. Wistrich on Holocaust denial * James E. Young on Holocaust literature
Publication Date: 2001-03-29
The Oxford Handbook of Genocide Studies by Donald Bloxham; A. Dirk MosesGenocide has scarred human societies since Antiquity. In the modern era, genocide has been a global phenomenon: from massacres in colonial America, Africa, and Australia to the Holocaust of European Jewry and mass death in Maoist China. In recent years, the discipline of 'genocide studies' has developed to offer analysis and comprehension. The Oxford Handbook of Genocide Studies is the first book to subject both genocide and the young discipline it has spawned to systematic, in-depth investigation. Thirty-four renowned experts study genocide through the ages by taking regional, thematic, and disciplinary-specific approaches. Chapters examine secessionist and political genocides in modern Asia. Others treat the violent dynamics of European colonialism in Africa, the complex ethnic geography of the Great Lakes region, and the structural instability of the continent's northern horn. South and North America receive detailed coverage, as do the Ottoman Empire, Nazi-occupied Europe, and post-communist Eastern Europe. Sustained attention is paid to themes like gender, memory, the state, culture, ethnic cleansing, military intervention, the United Nations, and prosecutions. The work is multi-disciplinary, featuring the work of historians, anthropologists, lawyers, political scientists, sociologists, and philosophers. Uniquely combining empirical reconstruction and conceptual analysis, this Handbook presents and analyses regions of genocide and the entire field of 'genocide studies' in one substantial volume.
Publication Date: 2010-05-26
Historical Dictionary of the Holocaust by Jack R. FischelThe Holocaust was perpetrated by the Nazis as a means of eliminating the Jews from the planet. It was an unprecedented event in history, inasmuch as a nation state had never before targeted an entire people for extinction. Yet, more than half a century later, there is a tendency to forget, if not to relativize, the Nazi extermination campaign against the Jews. More insidiously, a vicious effort is being made in limited circles to deny the Holocaust. The Historical Dictionary of the Holocaust is another reminder of what happened to the Jews and other victims of Nazi Germany's genocidal policies. In the years since the publication of the first edition of the Historical Dictionary of the Holocaust a significant amount of scholarship has been published. The second edition expands upon the first with an updated chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and over 400 cross-referenced dictionary entries on significant events, personalities, issues, and films and literature--because much of the public derive their understanding of the Holocaust from the arts. Libraries will find this book to be an indispensable research tool.