Women and Exercise : The Body, Health and ConsumerismThis book addresses this neglect by providing a much-needed feminist, qualitative social analysis of women and exercise. The contributors, drawn from across Europe and North America, investigate the ways women experience exercise within the context of the global fitness industry. All the authors take a specifically feminist perspective in their analysis of the fit, feminine body, exploring media images and the global branding of fitness products, the relationship between exercise and fat, the construction of physical activity within health discourse, and the lived experience of the exercising body.
Oxford American Handbook of Physical Medicine and RehabilitationThe Oxford American Handbooks of Medicine each offer a pocket-sized overview of an entire specialty, featuring instant access to guidance on the conditions that are most likely to be encountered. Precise and prescriptive, the handbooks offer up-to-date advice on examination, investigations, common procedures, and in-patient care.
Use yourNVU username and password to login to these databases from off-campus.
The largest companion to the MEDLINE index, this full-text database provides access to top-tier biomedical and health journals. It is an essential resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development.
Covers sports science, sports medicine, physical fitness, sports administration, physical education, physical therapy and other related subjects. Contains articles from more than 500 scholarly journals, as well as magazines and books.